NIOSH logo and tagline

NIOSH Recognizes 2008 Award Winners for Excellence and Dedication in Occupational Safety & Health Research


NIOSH Update:

Contact: Christina Bowles (202) 245-0633
May 1, 2008

On May 1 the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) recognized significant contributions from NIOSH researchers and our partners to occupational safety and health research over the past year. The annual Alice Hamilton Award, James P. Keogh Award, and Bullard-Sherwood Research-to-Practice Awards are given to projects that demonstrate scientific excellence of technical and instructional materials by NIOSH scientists and engineers, outstanding service by an individual in the occupational safety and health field, and exceptional efforts by NIOSH researchers and our partners in applying occupational safety and health research to the prevention of workplace fatalities, illnesses, or injuries.

“We are pleased to be able to recognize NIOSH researchers for their dedication and ingenuity as they address an ever widening scope of occupational safety and health issues,” said NIOSH Director John Howard, M.D. “This year’s projects highlight the diversity of issues in the field, ranging from reducing injuries in construction workers, mine seal safety, protecting first responders, and protecting workers from occupational respiratory diseases, as well as the incredible talent of the researchers addressing these topics.”

Named after Dr. Alice Hamilton, a pioneering researcher and occupational physician, the Alice Hamilton Award is given for outstanding NIOSH contributions in the areas of biological sciences, engineering and physical sciences, human studies, and educational materials. The submissions go through a rigorous review by panels of scientific experts, including peers from both outside and inside NIOSH. This year’s projects contributed to a wide range of sectors including construction, mining, manufacturing and services, as well as major workplace safety and health issues, including exposure to asbestos, inhalation of toxic fumes, and respiratory diseases. The full list of the 2008 Alice Hamilton Award recipients can be found at

The James P. Keogh Award for Outstanding Service in Occupational Safety and Health is given to current or former NIOSH employees who have, through their work, demonstrated exceptional commitment to the field. For 2008, we are proud to honor Mitch Singal, M.D., M.P.H. and his exemplary commitment to the occupational safety and health field. Dr. Singal’s work has contributed to the training of occupational health professionals, improved the scientific understanding of occupational disease, and facilitated the control of hazardous exposures in the workplace.

The Bullard-Sherwood Research-to-Practice Award, named for the inventor of the hard hat Edward W. Bullard, and R. Jeremy Sherwood, the inventor of the personal industrial hygiene sampling pump, is given to recognize recipients for outstanding contributions in three categories: Knowledge, Interventions, and Technology. This year the award and honorable mentions went to projects addressing issues around flavoring-related lung disease, reproductive concerns associated with occupational cycling, protective clothing analysis, commercial fishing, toxic metals, and risk of serious injuries among responders and health-care workers from ignition of portable oxygen resuscitators. To view the list of recipients of the 2008 Bullard-Sherwood Award visit

For more information about NIOSH research activities go to