CDC State, Local, and Tribal Grantees Funding Map Text Description

A map of the United States and U.S. territories showing funded initiatives by DHDSP for the prevention and management of diabetes, heart disease, and stroke. For fiscal year 2019, DHDSP funded statewide initiatives in all 50 states and the District of Columbia through the Improving the Health of Americans through Prevention and Management of Diabetes, Heart Disease, and Stroke cooperative agreement.

State innovation programs exist in 19 states, including Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New York, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington State, and Wisconsin. Six local innovation programs operated by large city or county governments/consortia exist in California (three programs), Maryland, New York, and Pennsylvania.

Good Health and Wellness in Indian Country Tribes and Tribal Organizations is operated by 16 tribes and urban Indian organizations in Alaska, Arizona (3), California, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma (2), Oregon, South Carolina, Utah, and Wisconsin; 11 tribal organizations in Alaska, Arizona, California, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington State, and Wisconsin; and one tribal coordinating center in Alaska

Twenty-one states receive WISEWOMAN Core Funding. (WISEWOMAN is an abbreviation for Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for WOmen Across the Nation.) These 21 states include Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Washington State, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

WISEWOMAN Innovation Funding goes to six states, including Colorado, Connecticut, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania, and one tribal organization in Alaska (the Southcentral Foundation, or SCF).

Three tribal organizations receive WISEWOMAN Tribal Organization Core Funding, including the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC) and SCF in Alaska, and the Native American Rehabilitation Association (NARA) in Oregon.

The YMCA of the USA Program operates in 30 states, including Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington State. Some states have multiple participating YMCA programs; 103 YMCA associations deliver the program in these 30 states.

The CDC/ASTHO (Association of State and Territorial Health Officials) Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Learning Collaborative operates in 26 states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin); the District of Columbia; and the U.S. territories of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Palau, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The Mississippi Delta Health Collaborative operates in the 18-county Mississippi Delta Region.

Below the map are the logos of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.