International Classification of Diseases,Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM)

Visit the International Classification of Diseases website for information about ICD-10-CM.

The International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) is based on the World Health Organization’s Ninth Revision, International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9). ICD-9-CM is the official system of assigning codes to diagnoses and procedures associated with hospital utilization in the United States. The ICD-9 was used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates until 1999, when use of ICD-10 for mortality coding started.

The ICD-9-CM consists of:

  • a tabular list containing a numerical list of the disease code numbers in tabular form;
  • an alphabetical index to the disease entries; and
  • a classification system for surgical, diagnostic, and therapeutic procedures (alphabetic index and tabular list).

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services are the U.S. governmental agencies responsible for overseeing all changes and modifications to the ICD-9-CM.


The ICD-9-CM Rom is unavailable.

Rich Text Format (RTF) Files

A version in Rich Text Format (RTF) of the 2011 edition is available for downloading from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC)/FTP server.

ICD-9-CM Files via FTP

ICD-9-CM Addenda, Conversion Table, and Guidelines

Other Documents