Texas Certification System

< Back Next >

Map of the United States with Texas highlighted.
In Texas, certification is called a “Certified Community Health Worker” credential.

The Texas certification system:

  • Uses eight recognized core competency areas
  • Is administered by the state health department
  • Is based on completion of approved training or six years’ previous experience
  • Includes no fees and no SSN or reporting of citizenship status